corner box
menu button
Boosterrific.com: The Complete, Annotated Adventures of Booster Gold
Boosterrific.com: The Complete, Annotated Adventures of Booster Gold

Buy Booster Gold

Showing posts 0-5 of 80 matching: solicitations

Friday, November 13, 2020

Forged Future

Quick recap: In early 2021, Booster Gold will be appearing in a two-part mini-series, Generations: Shattered (January 15) and Generations: Forged (February 23). This story will not be related to the "Future State" event DC is publishing over the same period. (More details available in these Boosterrific posts.)

Until now, we've talked only about Shattered, but we're finally starting to get some good information about the second half of the series. Noah Dominguez and CBR.com and Michael Doran at Gamesradar.com have the advanced solicitation text:

GENERATIONS FORGED #1
written by DAN JURGENS, ANDY SCHMIDT, and ROBERT VENDITTI
art by BRYAN HITC, MIKE PERKINS, BERNARD CHANG, PAUL PELLETIER, and others
covers by LIAM SHARP and RAFAEL ALBUQUERQUE

Dispersed through time by the villain Dominus, our ragtag team of generational heroes -- featuring 1939 Batman, Kamandi, Superboy, Steel, Starfire, Sinestro, Booster Gold, and Dr. Light -- must find a way to restore the timeline… and what they ultimately discover is something far, far greater You'll have to read it to believe it as time dies… and generations rise!
ON SALE February 23, 2021

© DC Comics
standard cover by Liam Sharp

© DC Comics
alternate cover by Rafael Albuquerque

Booster boosters know that our hero's planned origin story relied heavily on Superboy's continuity which was erased from the DC Universe by the original Crisis on Infinite Earths. It will be pretty cool to see the two characters finally interacting.

By the way, if you don't recognize "the villain Dominus," Russ Burlingame has the explainer of this 1990s Superman foe at Comicbook.com.

It's looking like it'll be a very Boosterrific 2021! Hooray!

Comments (2) | Add a Comment | Tags: cbr.com comicbook.com covers gamesradar.com generations michael doran noah dominguez russ burlingame solicitations

Monday, September 14, 2020

Coming Attractions: Death Metal The Last 52

DC took advantage of Fandome to release their 2020 December solicitations. These are the places we should expect to see Booster Gold in coming months:

© DC Comics

DEATH METAL: THE LAST 52: WAR OF THE MULTIVERSES #1
written by SCOTT SNYDER, JOSHUA WILLIAMSON, MAGDALENE VISAGGIO, JAMES TYNION IV, KYLE HIGGINS, MARGUERITE BENNETT, MATT ROSENBERG, JUSTIN JORDAN, REGINE SAWYER, and CHE GRAYSON
art by DANIEL SAMPERE and others
cover by DAN MORA
variant cover by GARY FRANK

What would it take to get every being left in the Multiverse to side together in the ultimate, final showdown? Total decimation and the complete undoing of all existence? The Batman Who Laughs has made his final move, bringing the most horrifying opposition to the battleground, and now every hero and villain left alive will stand and fight together. This epic battle book details every side of the last war across the Multiverse—Wonder Woman leading the heroes, Superman leading the villains, and Batman leading the dead—everyone has to play their part. Everyone and everything is at stake…so join here for the last of the DCU as we know it! $8.99 PRESTIGE FORMAT ONE SHOT, ON SALE December 29, 2020

I know the text doesn't explicitly mention Booster Gold, but he appears on *both* covers seen above. Am I willing to shell out $17.98 for the pair? I'll see how I feel about that decision when I complete my Christmas shopping.

UPDATE 2020-09-14: BleedingCool.com reports that the second cover by Gary Frank was original intended for the abandoned 5G event, so it doesn't have anything to do with the book's contents. I wish that made my math easier, but it is a beautiful, cheerful cover.

(By the way, there are four other Dark Nights: Death Metal books and three new Tales of the Dark Multiverse being solicited — because Eddie of Iron Maiden makes all of DC Comics' publishing decisions in 2020. Booster Gold could conceivably cameo in any of these books, so if anyone notices our boy, please pass word along. Thank you.)

Next up is the book DC teased last week:

GENERATIONS SHATTERED #1
written by DAN JURGENS, ANDY SCHMIDT, and ROBERT VENDITTI
art by IVAN REIS, BRYAN HITCH, KEVIN NOWLAN, AARON LOPRESTI, FERNANDO PASARIN, PAUL PELLETIER, and others
cover by IVAN REIS and JOE PRADO

A threat of cosmic proportion to DC's newest (and oldest) universe compels one of the most unusual groups of heroes ever assembled to take on the most mysterious foe they have ever encountered. What started in
Detective Comics #1027 explodes out of Dark Nights: Death Metal to tell the story of the generations-spanning history of the DC Universe! Join the original Batman, Kamandi, Starfire, Sinestro, Booster Gold, Dr. Light, Steel, and Sinestro in their quest to save the universe before time runs out…
$9.99 PRESTIGE FORMAT ONE SHOT, ON SALE January 15, 2021

There are two covers for this one, too, but so far we've only seen the one I showed on Generations Shattered on Friday. Will the second one have Booster Gold on it also? That'd be useful information, DC, as my Local Comic Shop only orders for me exactly what I tell them to, and I don't need to buy two copies of the interior pages.

Note that the solicitation above text name checks Detective Comics #1027, which is due in my store tomorrow with a $9.99 cover price. What is up with all these $9-$10 comics, DC? Haven't you heard that there's a pandemic-inspired economic crisis on? Why are you making me choose between skipping meals or comic books? I feel I should warn you that food is pretty darn important to me.

Also in the solicitations is the news that Booster Gold will also be appearing in the JUSTICE LEAGUE INTERNATIONAL BOOK TWO: AROUND THE WORLD TP reprint collection coming in January. I recommend it highly for fans of Blue and Gold, though I have to admit that I won't be buying it on release. Its cover price is a very reasonable $29.99 for 20 comics, but it'll be March before I recover from buying all those other Booster Gold books.

You can find all of DC's December 2020 solicitations at GamesRadar.com.

Comments (0) | Add a Comment | Tags: death metal gamesradar.com generations justice league international solicitations

Friday, September 11, 2020

Shattered Feelings

I've been a grouch all week, but it's not all bad news in the world. I mean, DC Fandome version 2.0 is set for tomorrow, and DC is promising us 24 hours of free comics. That's not nothing.

And if Booster Gold fans want even more comic books, you should know that on Wednesday, Newsarama/GamesRadar broke the news that Booster Gold would be appearing in Generations: Shattered #1 in January.

(I said that like you didn't already know it, but you probably did. So many people got in touch to share that Newsarama article, I must have been the last to know. Thanks for keeping me informed, everybody!)

Judging from the article, Generations: Shattered looks to be a $10 anthology book collecting some of the pieces of DC's abandoned "5G" event. The official solicitation hasn't been revealed — and might not be revealed for a while considering that Newsarama says it's coming in January and DC hasn't even released its December solicitations. But we do know that Dan Jurgens is listed as one of the writers, and we did get this look at the sweet cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado.

Pay close attention:

© DC Comics

© DC Comics

© DC Comics

Booster hasn't had that shaded star on his costume since Booster Gold #8 in 1986! Could that be an accident? I think not.

Dare we hope that Generations: Shattered will actually revisit Booster's original post-Crisis on Infinite Earths chronology for the first time since... ever? Remember, back in 1986, Booster was living the lifestyle of the rich and famous. Ah, the good old days!

Maybe this wasn't such a bad week after all. #CorporateCrusader #BringBackTrixie

Comments (4) | Add a Comment | Tags: 2020 conventions dan jurgens dc fandome gamesrader.com generations ivan reis joe prado newsarama.com solicitations

Monday, August 17, 2020

Coming Attractions: Batman Beyond 49

DC's November solicitations are out, and Booster Gold is in!

Specifically, he's in Batman Beyond #49.

BATMAN BEYOND #49
written by DAN JURGENS
art and cover by PAUL PELLETIER and NORM RAPMUND
cover by DAN MORA

To safely return to his own timeline, Batman Beyond will have to defeat the villain Blanque without being seen by his mentor, the World’s Greatest Detective—Batman! Will Booster Gold help keep Batman Beyond hidden, or will time as we know it become completely undone? You do not want to miss this issue!
ON SALE November 24, 2020

I'm starting to hope that time as I know it *will* be completely undone, but DC's constant series of reboots has conditioned me to expect that I would like the new universe that takes its place even less.

I'm assuming from the way the solicitation is written that the book will have two covers. DC only released one cover with the solicitation, the one drawn by Dan Mora. While that cover is beautifully drawn, it does not include even a hint of Booster Gold. I hope Pelletier and Rapmund don't make the same mistake.

You can find a complete list of DC's November 2020 solicitations at GamesRadar.com.

Comments (1) | Add a Comment | Tags: batman dan jurgens gamesradar.com solicitations

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Coming Attractions: Batman Beyond 48

As many, many people have told me, Booster Gold appears in the October 2020 DC Comics solicitations. This is — as all Booster Gold appearances should be — Big News, big enough to be covered by many of the usual comic book news websites.

Compare the headlines "Batman vs. Batman Beyond Is Happening - And It's Booster Gold's Fault" and "Batman Will Finally Fight Batman Beyond Thanks to Booster Gold". The former belongs to CBR.com, who never misses a chance to troll Booster Gold fans. The latter belongs to ComicBook.com, where the Internet's foremost Booster Gold reporter, Russ Burlingame, adds a lot more context and a bit of speculation based on his past experience with the character. I'll leave you to your judgment which of those two links you should read.

Or, if you're in a hurry, you can just read the original solicitation below:

© DC Comics

BATMAN BEYOND #48
written by DAN JURGENS
art by SEAN CHEN
cover by DAN MORA

"First Contact" begins! Something is very, very wrong with Bruce Wayne, as he lashes out in anger and tries to kill Batman Beyond! Who else can save him but...Booster Gold?! The greatest hero history never knew is going to take Batman Beyond back in time to the Gotham of old, where Bruce Wayne is Batman—which means Batman and Batman Beyond will meet at last!
ON SALE October 27, 2020

No matter whose fault it is, Batman must be getting tired of Booster Gold interfering with his destiny.

Though Batman Beyond #48 was the only solicitation to mention Booster Gold by name (and the only one to get promoted in the comic book press), our hero also appears in the announced reprint collections of Heroes in Crisis, plus lesser appearances in Batman/Superman Vol 1, Justice League Unlimited: Time After Time, and Underworld Unleashed: The 25th Anniversary TP.

You can find the complete list of DC October 2020 solicitations at GamesRader.com.

Keep your piggy banks nearby, Booster boosters. You're going to need all your pennies this October.

Comments (2) | Add a Comment | Tags: batman cbr.com comicbook.com covers dan jurgens dan mora gamesradar.com russ burlingame solicitations


There have been 2315 blog entries since January 2010.

VIEW LIST OF 2516 KEYWORDS

FIND NEWS BY DATE


JUMP TO PAGE



SITE SEARCH


return to top

SPOILER WARNING: The content at Boosterrific.com may contain story spoilers for DC Comics publications.