corner box
menu button
Boosterrific.com: The Complete, Annotated Adventures of Booster Gold
Boosterrific.com: The Complete, Annotated Adventures of Booster Gold

Buy Booster Gold

Showing posts 0-5 of 26 matching: 52

Monday, September 14, 2020

Coming Attractions: Death Metal The Last 52

DC took advantage of Fandome to release their 2020 December solicitations. These are the places we should expect to see Booster Gold in coming months:

© DC Comics

DEATH METAL: THE LAST 52: WAR OF THE MULTIVERSES #1
written by SCOTT SNYDER, JOSHUA WILLIAMSON, MAGDALENE VISAGGIO, JAMES TYNION IV, KYLE HIGGINS, MARGUERITE BENNETT, MATT ROSENBERG, JUSTIN JORDAN, REGINE SAWYER, and CHE GRAYSON
art by DANIEL SAMPERE and others
cover by DAN MORA
variant cover by GARY FRANK

What would it take to get every being left in the Multiverse to side together in the ultimate, final showdown? Total decimation and the complete undoing of all existence? The Batman Who Laughs has made his final move, bringing the most horrifying opposition to the battleground, and now every hero and villain left alive will stand and fight together. This epic battle book details every side of the last war across the Multiverse—Wonder Woman leading the heroes, Superman leading the villains, and Batman leading the dead—everyone has to play their part. Everyone and everything is at stake…so join here for the last of the DCU as we know it! $8.99 PRESTIGE FORMAT ONE SHOT, ON SALE December 29, 2020

I know the text doesn't explicitly mention Booster Gold, but he appears on *both* covers seen above. Am I willing to shell out $17.98 for the pair? I'll see how I feel about that decision when I complete my Christmas shopping.

UPDATE 2020-09-14: BleedingCool.com reports that the second cover by Gary Frank was original intended for the abandoned 5G event, so it doesn't have anything to do with the book's contents. I wish that made my math easier, but it is a beautiful, cheerful cover.

(By the way, there are four other Dark Nights: Death Metal books and three new Tales of the Dark Multiverse being solicited — because Eddie of Iron Maiden makes all of DC Comics' publishing decisions in 2020. Booster Gold could conceivably cameo in any of these books, so if anyone notices our boy, please pass word along. Thank you.)

Next up is the book DC teased last week:

GENERATIONS SHATTERED #1
written by DAN JURGENS, ANDY SCHMIDT, and ROBERT VENDITTI
art by IVAN REIS, BRYAN HITCH, KEVIN NOWLAN, AARON LOPRESTI, FERNANDO PASARIN, PAUL PELLETIER, and others
cover by IVAN REIS and JOE PRADO

A threat of cosmic proportion to DC's newest (and oldest) universe compels one of the most unusual groups of heroes ever assembled to take on the most mysterious foe they have ever encountered. What started in
Detective Comics #1027 explodes out of Dark Nights: Death Metal to tell the story of the generations-spanning history of the DC Universe! Join the original Batman, Kamandi, Starfire, Sinestro, Booster Gold, Dr. Light, Steel, and Sinestro in their quest to save the universe before time runs out…
$9.99 PRESTIGE FORMAT ONE SHOT, ON SALE January 15, 2021

There are two covers for this one, too, but so far we've only seen the one I showed on Generations Shattered on Friday. Will the second one have Booster Gold on it also? That'd be useful information, DC, as my Local Comic Shop only orders for me exactly what I tell them to, and I don't need to buy two copies of the interior pages.

Note that the solicitation above text name checks Detective Comics #1027, which is due in my store tomorrow with a $9.99 cover price. What is up with all these $9-$10 comics, DC? Haven't you heard that there's a pandemic-inspired economic crisis on? Why are you making me choose between skipping meals or comic books? I feel I should warn you that food is pretty darn important to me.

Also in the solicitations is the news that Booster Gold will also be appearing in the JUSTICE LEAGUE INTERNATIONAL BOOK TWO: AROUND THE WORLD TP reprint collection coming in January. I recommend it highly for fans of Blue and Gold, though I have to admit that I won't be buying it on release. Its cover price is a very reasonable $29.99 for 20 comics, but it'll be March before I recover from buying all those other Booster Gold books.

You can find all of DC's December 2020 solicitations at GamesRadar.com.

Comments (0) | Add a Comment | Tags: death metal gamesradar.com generations justice league international solicitations

Friday, August 14, 2020

The Best of Booster Gold: 52 Week 15

My list of the twelve best Booster Gold comics is presented in chronological order of publication. Otherwise, entry number 8 would have appeared much higher.

May I present to you the glory that is 52 Week Fifteen, the "Booster Gold Memorial Issue" and one of the earliest inspirations for what would become Boosterrific.com.

© DC Comics
Art by J.G. Jones, color by Alex Sinclair

Spoiler Alert: Booster Gold dies in this issue.

For most of the early 2000s, Booster Gold was an afterthought, a wash-up has-been of a hero out of the public eye. His time in the shadows was preparing him for a new turn in the spotlight. But before Booster could soar, he had to fall. When Booster Gold does something, he doesn't settle for half measures.

© DC Comics

© DC Comics

© DC Comics

If I didn't know better, I'd say don't be so hard on yourself, Booster. But this is only the first level of the inception.

Re-reading those panels once you learn who's wearing the Supernova costume and why, you'll start to see the play within the play. (Booster Gold as a Shakespearean tragic hero? Yes, please!) Who can't respect a character who is willing to go that far to save his friends?

I'm hesitant to say too much, as the Booster Gold story running throughout the ensemble series is as much a mystery as it is a tale of redemption. If you've never read 52 cover to cover, do yourself the favor of correcting that mistake. With all due credit to every writer, artist, and editor involved (including Dan DiDio), I say that 52 is about as great as long form American super hero comics storytelling can get.

And issue 15 is particularly good, certainly good enough to be included among the twelve best Booster Gold comics.

Comments (1) | Add a Comment | Tags: 52 best of supernova

Monday, December 2, 2019

My Favorite Covers: 52 Week Fifteen

Introducing Booster Gold to a whole know audience, 52 transformed our hero from a much-maligned B-list wannabe into The Greatest Hero The World Has Never Known.

Thanks to the talents of J.G. Jones and Alex Sinclair, the series has a bunch of great covers, some of which don't even feature Booster Gold. However, one stands above the others in my lists of favorites: the cover to 52 Week Fifteen (2006).

© DC Comics
Art by J.G. Jones, color by Alex Sinclair

The cover is deceptively simple, conveying a very complex situation with a minimum of content. Too many modern comics eschew character dialog on their covers and as a result look like nothing more than out-of-context pin-up splash pages. However, this issue leans into the photographic trend by emulating the cover of photo-news magazines like Newsweek. The effect adds realism (and thusly viewer engagement and empathy) to the apparent tragedy it shows. What's happening here? Inquiring minds want to know!

Though it makes good use of the modern "no speech balloons" aesthetic, it also calls back to the Silver Age of DC Comics when covers were created first and the writers had to solve the challenges they teased. Booster Gold's broken goggles, blood, Supernova floating above the Metropolis skyline... the cover promises volumes before you ever turn a page. In addition to good art, it's also good storytelling.

And the best part is that the context of this image changes once you've finished the whole series and look back at it.

Now that's Boosterrific!

Comments (0) | Add a Comment | Tags: 52 alex sinclair covers favorite covers jg jones

Monday, September 25, 2017

All Hail Hale

After I asked last Monday about what your Booster Gold shrines looked like, Aaron Hale got in touch with me via Facebook. His office is like a museum for Booster Gold original art!

Check out these pics of some of his framed pieces. (Click any for a larger image.)

Booster Gold 10 splash page
Dan Jurgens splash page from Booster Gold #10

52 Week 15 cover art
Mark Waid and JG Jones signed issue and cover art from 52 Week 15

Justice League America 90 page
Marc Campos art from Justice League America #90

New 52 Justice League cover art
Aaron Lopresti signed cover art (with corrections) from Justice League International #1

Blue and Gold headshots by Kevin Maguire
Kevin Maguire commissions with Justice League International #8

Wow.

Just wow.

Aaron, I bow down to you. Thanks so much for sharing.

Comments (0) | Add a Comment | Tags: 52 aaron b hale aaron lopresti blue beetle commissions dan jurgens fan art jg jones justice league international kevin maguire mak waid marc campos

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

This Day in History: The Death of Booster Gold

From his early days as a solo hero with limited knowledge of the present to membership in the greatest comedy duo on the Justice League roster to his modern role as protector of the time stream, Booster Gold has had a varied career as a costumed crime fighter.

Few of his adventures have been as epic as the story revealed in the pages of 52, a story that included his own death.

© DC Comics
art by Shawn Moll and Tom Nguyen

It was on this date in 2006 that we first met the corpse of Michael Jon "Booster" Carter in 52 #15. (Don't worry. He got better.)

I loved 52. As a long-time Booster Gold fan, it was great top see him return to the forefront of the DC Universe, especially in a story so dedicated to legacy building. Booster's featured role in that story catapulted the hero to new heights of stardom, and all his fans should be thankful that our hero ever received such a platform regardless of how he's ignored by the company today.

To sum up: if you haven't read 52, you're missing out on one of the best Booster Gold comics of all time. Go read it. And if you have read it, read it again.

Comments (4) | Add a Comment | Tags: 52


There have been 2317 blog entries since January 2010.

VIEW LIST OF 2521 KEYWORDS

FIND NEWS BY DATE


JUMP TO PAGE



SITE SEARCH


return to top

SPOILER WARNING: The content at Boosterrific.com may contain story spoilers for DC Comics publications.